Teaching Center Events: Spring 2022

The Teaching Center has a number of events and opportunities this semester. Details are provided below. The Teaching Center will email invitations and reminders for individual events and opportunities.

Lunch Discussions

Friday, January 21

Faculty Perspectives on Elements of Race in Our Teaching and Student Learning

Noon-1 p.m.

Zoom

In conjunction with MLK Week events

 

Date/Time TBD

Questions to Ask About Our Teaching

 

Thursday, February 17

Technology’s Impact on Human Learning

Guest Presenter: Dr. Doreen Dodgen-Magee

11:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.

JAAC, 4th Floor conference Center

Cosponsored with University Ministries

 

Thursday, March 3

Reconsidering Approaches to Grading Student Work

11:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.

Massey Boardroom, 4th Floor Massey Business Center

 

Monday, April 4

The Science of Learning and Innovative Teaching

11:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.

JAAC, 4th Floor Conference Center

 

Mini-Workshop Series & Retreats

Circle of Trust Experiences

Facilitated by Judy Skeen

   Retreats:

Monday, January 3, 9 a.m.-1 p.m.

Thursday, May 12, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.

   Lunch Breaks, Noon-1 p.m.

Monday, January 10 & Wednesday, April 6

   Afternoon Pause, 3:30-5 p.m.

Monday, January 24 & Friday, April 8

 

Be Well BU and Student Learning

Wednesday, February 9 & Wednesday, March 30

Noon – 1 p.m.

Massey Boardroom, 4th Floor Massey Business Center

 

Advising Tips and Strategies

Wednesday, February 23

3:30-4:30 p.m.

JAAC 4098

 

Sabbatical Planning

Tuesday, March 8

2-3 p.m.

JAAC 4111

 

Teaching Center May Workshop

May 10-11

 

Reading Groups

 February Reading Groups

All About Love: New Visions by bell hooks

Tuesday Groups

8 – 9 a.m.; 3:30-4:30 p.m.

February 8, 15, 22

Wednesday Groups

Noon – 1 p.m.; 3:30-4:30 p.m.

February 9, 16, 23

 

Belmont Applied Teaching and Learning (BeATLe) Groups

The New Science of Learning: How to Learn in Harmony With Your Brain

Ungrading: Why Rating Students Undermines Learning (and What to Do Instead)

Dates, Times, and Locations TBD

 

Additional Deadlines and Opportunities to Note

February 1 – 18

Teaching Center Formative Reviews

 

Tuesday, February 8 – 4 p.m.

Deadline to submit Teaching Center Travel Grant application

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.